Getting a DUI can have a major impact on your life. Lawyer's fees, court fines, driver's education courses, and other expenses associated with a DUI conviction can cost thousands of dollars. A DUI conviction can also mean losing your license, preventing you from getting to work and it can have a big impact on your personal life.
The ramifications of getting a DUI intensify if it's not your first offense. The more DUIs you are charged with, the harsher the penalties. If you get a DUI in the state of Georgia, and it's not your first offense, here's what you need to know.
You Are Facing Harsher Penalties
The first thing that you should be aware of is the look-back period. This period is the amount of time that the DUI conviction will stay on a driver's driving record.
The look-back period varies from state to state and ranges from just a few years to a lifetime. The lookback period for the state of Georgia is ten years. If another DUI conviction happens within the ten-year period in Georgia, the driver will be considered a subsequent offender.
The Possibility of More Jail Time Increases
Another thing to know about multiple DUI convictions is that jail time increases with each offense. A second offense may come with a sentence of anywhere from 3 days to 1 year spent in jail. If it's a third offense, jail time can be anywhere from 15 days to 1 year. A fourth offense brings jail time of anywhere from 1 year to 5 years.
The Fines Increase
Fines can also vary depending on the number of DUIs. If it's your second, third, or even fourth offense, you will in most cases end up paying higher fines. In the state of Georgia, a first or a second DUI offense carries fine can be close to $1,000. Third and fourth offenses carry fines between $1,000 and $5,000.
You Could Lose Your License For Longer
A suspended license is one of the most difficult consequences to deal with after getting a DUI. Not having a license for any amount of time can affect your professional life as well as your personal life. In addition, if you work in certain career fields, a suspended license could lead to you getting losing your job as well.
In Georgia, a first offense DUI can mean a license suspension of up to one year. A second DUI can get your license suspended for up to 3 years. A third offense can mean going without a license for up to 5 years, and a fourth offense can lead to a lifetime suspension of your driver's license.
Georgia Has Implied Consent Laws
Another consideration that you should be aware of is the fact that Georgia operates under implied consent laws. This means that if you refuse to take a test that detects alcohol in your blood, breath, or urine, you will have your license automatically suspended for anywhere from 1 to 5 years depending on whether it's a repeat offense.
Getting your license back involves participating in an alcohol and drug-use rehabilitation program and paying a fee.
You Could End Up With a Felony Charge
In most cases, a DUI conviction in the state of Georgia is classified as a misdemeanor. However, if it's your fourth DUI in the look-back period, you could be looking at a felony charge. A DUI can also be a felony if someone is seriously injured or killed.
Getting charged with more than one DUI can have a major impact on your life and you will certainly need the services of an experienced lawyer. Contact the professionals at Brimberry, Kaplan & Brimberry P.C. for a free consultation regarding your DUI case.